Cooking with Laura

Welcome to the madness that is my kitchen.

pasty!!

I’ve been cooking a lot lately, gathering new recipes and trying to level my cooking skill to 300. /nerd. But seriously it’s become a new hobby for me, and a damn tasty one too. And no offense 99, it’s pretty rad having a nice kitchen all to yourself. Not so rad having no roommates to sample your creations with, but at least I have plenty of leftovers :)

I wanted to share a few of the recipes that have been especially good.

peek into the oven. it's almost done.

I made a batch of these Butternut Squash Pasties last night. Really easy to make, just a little time consuming with the pastry dough, and I got four good-sized hand pies out of this recipe. This is probably the most delicious thing I’ve put into my mouth. Ever. Omfg. You can’t lose with a buttery flaky pastry crust stuffed with garlic, onions, and parmesan…mmmmm. Next time we’ll have to go the more traditional route and try some meat and potatoes.

Oh and here’s an awesome old lady explaining how to crimp a pasty¬† http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sy7Q6nvEq-E&feature=related

Next up is more pies. Pizza pies! I wanted to try my hand at pizza making. As you would expect, the most difficult part to master is the crust. I followed this recipe for Thin Crust Pizza Dough. On my first try, I tried to do a half whole wheat flour half white flour dough, which actually didn’t enhance the flavor like I thought it would and made for a dough that was a bit tough and bland. The recipe makes enough dough for two pies, so I let one chill in the fridge overnight like they recommend and it did seem to help the dough taste richer. My second dough attempt was all white flour which turned out good the first time, and great after a night in the fridge!

mmm sausage

Tried out a few different topping combos. Here we have red pepper, onion, andouille sausage, feta and mozzarella. Sausage is an instant win topping, fyi.

veggie pizza. a salad on dough.

This one was an awesome combo of eggplant, kale greens, red pepper, onion, and some rosemary and thyme sprinkled all over.

pizza attempt #4. deliciouso!

Daaaaaaaamn.

Here are some more recipes I’ve tried and like!

Homemade Granola

Pasta with Butternut Squash and Sage

Best Peanut Butter Cookies

Oddly Delicious Kale Chips

