DOS: 07/04/2011

This past weekend, I went to Tahoe with some old and mostly new friends. It was awesome to finally have real summer weather, BBQs, beaches, fireworks, and a tan – yes, a real tan! I didn’t burn this time!

The Crew

Our house in Tahoe Donner. Picture by Chris.

– – – – – – – – – – – – –
Day 1

On our first day there, Chris and I hiked down from the house to Lake Donner. It was a 6 mile walk and we got to stop by the Donner Party museum. Funnily enough, they didn’t mention cannibalism.

Hiking Gear. Picture by Chris.

We ended up going to the Donner National Park instead of the member’s only beach. Mostly because it’s what we walked to first, but also because it was free if you walked in. Kara and Kim met up with us later.

Beautiful place to catch some rays. Picture by Kim.

The other side of Donner Lake was equally as beautiful. Picture by Chris.

– – – – – – – – – – – – –
Day 2

On our second day in Tahoe we went to King’s Beach, which is really close to where we stayed in February with Emily and Laura! Tahoe Dave’s is now Tahoe Boats and Oars (or something like that). Chris and I found the exact spot that I took Chris, Laura, and Sean’s picture earlier that year. By total coincidence, it happened to be exactly where we set up camp for the day and stayed into the night for fireworks!

<3

Day 2 was Eric's birthday! Happy Birthday Eric!

There was a beautiful sunset before the fireworks.

The first fireworks we've seen in 2 years! Picture by Chris.

– – – – – – – – – – – – –
Day 3 – Not for the Squeamish

I’ll admit I started Day 3 totally against the idea of white water tubing. On Friday before we left for Tahoe, I looked up the tubing place and it was the total opposite of “floating down a river drinking beer” that our trip planner, Kalah, had promised. Everyone convinced me, until we were putting on helmets and life jackets, that this wasn’t the same place and that the “mild” rapids wouldn’t be so bad.

Calm Waters. Picture by Kim.

Even though it turned out it was the river and rapids I feared, the first half of the river was amazing. I really do love tubing and the rapids weren’t so bad. I love love love loved it.

Kara and I totally stoked. Tubing, f-yeah! Picture by Kim.

Then right after that picture was taken and we got back in the water, I met my match. The rapid lovingly named ‘The Widow Maker’. My raft tipped, I tried to do as instructed and put my legs in front of me to float down the rapids… and SLAM. My left leg. It wasn’t until I was completely down the rapids and Chris asked if I was ok that I lifted my leg and saw the huge gash and blood running everywhere. Surprisingly it didn’t hurt – shock I guess? Nate & Damon, two of the guides from Tubenation, did an amazing job of getting me to safety and bandaging me up. Thank you so much guys! Then Kara and Eric, who I can’t thank enough, took me to the hospital…

13 Stitches - my lucky number! Picture by Chris.

Thumbs up! All stitched up! Picture by Chris.

I don’t regret going tubing. I loved every minute of it until I crashed. It might take me awhile, but I’ll do it again – next time avoiding white water rapids. These are my first stitches ever and the ER Doc said to expect a badass scar. Chris has been a super wonderful boyfriend – following the guides in getting me to safety, holding my hand while getting stitches, and taking care of me now that I’m home and wobbling around the house. I love you babe!

When it’s all said and done, this weekend was amazing. Thank you so much Kalah, Kim, and Kara for planning the trip. Happy 4th of July everybody!
.Linzi

