Alameda Point Antiques Fair

This past Sunday Chris, Tori, Amelia, and I went to the Alameda Point Antiques Fair! It’s a huge, and I mean huge, antique fair held in an abandoned Alameda parking lot the first Sunday of every month. Tori explained it as “the place antique shops go to buy their goods before they jack up the prices.” The fair participates are mostly people who collect items from estate sales, but others have more specific / handmade goods. It costs money to get in before noon, but the entry price goes down every couple of hours. The serious shoppers show up around 6AM! We showed up around 10:30AM and waited in a long but fast line. As you wait in line the wind wafts the delicious aroma of caramel kettle corn… so everybody ends up carrying around this huge bags of it (us included). Due to it’s humungous-ness, I highly recommend having an item in mind that you’re looking for. It took us 4 hours to get through a little more than half of it! Chris ended up buying 4 – really neat – cameras. He’s a good haggler (another good skill to have before going). Even though I didn’t buy anything, here are a few of my favorite items:

I was most excited about these awesome stereoscopes!

For my dad.

Really cute painted signs!

Colored Teapots for Laura

Old school Playboy - I love the 90s one!

A record player for Caitlin

and last but not least…

This amazing mermaid table.

If you’d like to see some pictures of great treasures, check out my flickr! If you’d like more info about the fair, check out their site!

.Linzi

