Apple Pie Cookies

Happy fall everyone! It’s that time of year again when I run around San Francisco attempting east coast traditions in a season-less west coast city. I’m ashamed to admit that I almost forgot it was fall this year… I’ve been here too long! In order to right that ridiculous wrong, I quickly bought some flowers, got out all of the decorations, lit the Yankee Candle ‘Autumn Wreath’ candle, and happily received my Topsfield Fair care package (thanks parents). That leaves 3 major fall things left: pumpkin picking, Halloween, and treats! All of which I will blog about here – of course, so let’s start with treats!

This weekend Allison, Chris, and I made Apple Pie Cookies following Smitten Kitchen’s recipe.

Apple Pie Cookies

I learned a lot about making a good crust from Allison. Mainly, use really cold water and always keep things you’re not working with in the freezer. Warm dough is sad dough. We used a mandolin (level 2) to cut the apples super thin and then put two apple discs in each cookie. We also added cardamom and apple pie spice in addition to the cinnamon and nutmeg spice combo – turned out amazing.

cookie assembly line

Ready for baking!

Baking... not really - but it looks like it.

Cooling.

Noming!

Delicious! We each ate 6 they were so good. You have to try this recipe out. Thanks Chris and Allison for all your help and photos! Fall appetit!
.Linzi

