The Good Food Awards Marketplace

Olympic Provisions's Chorizo Navarre, Oregon

This past Saturday the second annual Good Food Awards Marketplace was held at the infamous San Francisco Ferry Building. The awards are given to winners in eight categories: beer, charcuterie, cheese, chocolate, coffee, pickles, preserves and spirits. Chris and I heard about it through our usual twitter channels, bought the beer & spirits pass beforehand, and were totally pumped to go!

The Good Food Awards celebrate the kind of food we all want to eat: tasty, authentic and responsibly produced. We grant awards to outstanding American food producers and the farmers who provide their ingredients.Good Food Award recipients push their industries towards craftsmanship and sustainability while enhancing our agricultural landscape and building strong communities.

When we arrived we entered through the left side and started with charcuterie. I, surprisingly, ate elk jerky and it was super tasty!

Elk Strips from Gary West Smoked Meats, Oregon

From there we moved onto preserves. I really loved the Organic Raspberry Fruit Spread from Sweet Creek Foods in Oregon, but I loved The Orchard’s sign too much not to post it here.

Organic Blushing Tart Cherry Jam from The Orchard at Flathead Lake, Montana

Let’s Be Frank's Devil Sauce, California

I was super pumped that Let’s Be Frank, a local hot dog cart, won for their devil sauce. They pull up over in Hayes Valley all the time. Unfortunately I’ve never had their hot dog, so I think I’m going to give it a try this week. That was all on the left side of the Ferry Building’s main entrance.

Award-winning coffee makers were the first on the right side.

In front Broadway Café and Roasting Company's Ethiopian Yirgacheffe, Missouri

Only to be followed by delicious chocolate – because what goes better with coffee than chocolate?!

Theo Chocolate's Theo and Jane Goodall 70% Dark Chocolate, Washington

Next we moved onto my favorite category: cheese. There were so many good cheeses. We ended up buying some of the Weybridge cheese from Cellars at Jasper Hill (Scholten Farms) in Vermont. Also notable was the cream cheese / yogurt from Saint Benoit Yogurt.

Since I couldn't pick a favorite, here's a bunch of cheesy people!

The cheese concluded the food tasting part of the event and next we moved upstairs into the Ferry Building for the beer and spirits tasting. Chris and I had a rough Friday night at the karaoke bar, so unfortunately I didn’t get to fully enjoy the alcoholic section. Chris, on the other hand, powered through and tried most of the drinks he wanted to. A little tipsy – I didn’t take proper pictures of the wonderful drinks we had upstairs, instead I took some fun pictures of the building.

Beer & Spirits Tasting Room

Chris drinking one of the many beers.

All in all it was a great tasting and we’re super proud of all of the local California vendors that won. To see all of my Good Food Awards Marketplace photos, check out my flickr.

Linzi

