The Health and Beauty Brigade

Hello dear readers. I’ve had a special request to share some DIY beauty tips, so I wanted to take that opportunity to share my journey of mind, hair, and skin.

"Hello, Findlay! You always look so adorable. You must tell us WHO does your hair??"

“Hello, Findlay! You always look so adorable. You must tell us WHO does your hair??”

You may have seen this video regarding the world of cosmetic chemistry. It got me thinking about whether the products that I spent time and money shopping for were really getting the job done. Were the more expensive beauty products really worth it? What exactly ARE all those names on the label?

I happened to see this video for the first time when I began freelance work. Working from home gave me the perfect opportunity to experiment since I had time to try out these recipes and not care too much if my hair and skin looked like a hot mess :-)

The Hair Story

My hair lineup. Baking soda and apple cider vinegar!

My hair lineup. Baking soda and apple cider vinegar!

Like most people I know, I was raised washing my hair every single morning and I would do this because I would wake up with oily messy hair every single day. Little did I know that these two things were directly related. Shampoos are essentially detergents, stripping your hair of dirt and oils, oils that happen to be essential to healthy hair. So to compensate, your scalp makes more oil. It’s a vicious cycle. To break your hair of this cycle, you need to cut out shampoo. This can be a daunting task. Your head will go through some shampoo withdrawal, and you might end up looking like a hot mess. Despair not. Eventually your hair will return to a balanced state and your scalp will begin producing the appropriate amount of oil. You’ll find that you can go longer and longer without shampooing your hair, and it will look better than ever. It’s amazing.

To help easy the transition into “poo-free” here are some helpful recipes that will get you through those in between times.

Baking Soda “Shampoo”

1 T baking soda
1 c water

Mix baking soda with cool water until all soda is dissolved

Store in a spray or squeeze bottle. Use instead of shampoo; pour or spray on wet hair and work into hair, rinse well.

Apple Cider Vinegar “Conditioner”

1 T Apple cider vinegar (look for unfiltered brands)
1 c water

Mix ACV and water.

Store in a spray or squeeze bottle. Use instead of conditioner; pour or spray on wet hair and work into hair, rinse well.

Here’s a great website going further into depth about these hair recipes
http://mymerrymessylife.com/2012/03/diy-baking-soda-shampoo-apple-cider-vinegar-conditioner-100-green-effective-2.html

The Skin Story

My oil lineup. Coconut oil, tea tree oil, EVOO, and almond oil

My oil lineup. Coconut oil, tea tree oil, EVOO, and almond oil

For many, many years I struggled to clear my skin and gain a complexion that I was happy with. Face washes would work for a couple weeks then totally back fire, expensive prescriptions from my dermatologist would do nothing, harsh acne cleansers would clear me up and then completely dry out my skin. What on earth was going on here?!

Then I decided to try putting oil on my face instead of removing it.

Here is a life changing article on natural oils and the oil cleanse method.

http://www.theoilcleansingmethod.com/

The most shocking and resilient message in all this was that oil is not the problem. It’s not the bad guy! Imbalance is the problem. Once my skin was back in oil balance it started behaving and I had control again.
Here are my favorite treatments for clearer, happier skin

Nighttime oil facial

30% Castor oil, 70% Extra virgin olive oil

I use this once a week as a nighttime moisturizing mask, applying it just like you would a face lotion

For spot treatments, I use tea tree oil. It’s a powerful, proven acne fighter. One drop is more than enough, and it’s recommended to cut the potency by mixing it with another carrier oil like almond or olive.

P.S. Apple cider vinegar is also great for your skin, and your insides, too. Try drinking 1 T a day mixed with water if you’re brave enough ;-)

Oh P.P.S. cold-pressed coconut oil is the BEST moisturizer for after shower skin!!

2010

2010

Me now ;-)

Me now ;-)

So there you have it! I might be a leeettle bit crazy but the results, to me, are beyond noticeable and I love my new skin and hair so much =)

My next goals are to break my dependancies on brand name deodorants and body washes. If you have any tips or recipes send them my way!

Love,

Laura

