The Bergmanns in Tahoe

Mom & Dad at Jax on the Tracks

Way back in October my parents flew to San Francisco for their yearly visit. Before they arrived, Chris and I started an itinerary. We soon realized that they have pretty much been to every tourist spot in San Francisco, main & hidden, so we planned a trip to Tahoe – our vacation home away from home.

San Francisco

The Exploratorium

The Thursday night they arrived we took them to the Exploratorium in San Francisco. The Exploratorium is a ‘learning laboratory’. It is a gigantic, open space full of hands-on experiments that you can tinker with. We did Nightlife at Cal Academy for my Dad’s 60th birthday a few years ago, so we knew they would be into it.

Pro-tip: The first Thursday of the month, called ‘After Dark’, is the busy one, but if you go any other Thursday you can play with all the experiments & not wait in a single line.

DIY POPOS Tour

The next day my Dad, Mom, and I did a tour of the Privately Owned Public Open Spaces aka POPOS. A few of my friends had done this do-it-yourself tour and highly recommended it. It was fun to follow the map, jump around the financial district, and find hidden gems. We didn’t have enough time to go to all of them, so we just went to the ones ones rated ‘Excellent’. My favorite spot was 100 Pine Street. It’s full of sculptures, is tucked away between giant buildings, and has a secret entrance.

Pro-tip: We started a little too late because some spaces, especially the ones inside buildings, close relatively early. Keep in mind to start early if you plan on doing it yourself.

Tahoe

We drove up to Tahoe early the first day and returned late the second. We spent our first day mostly in North Lake. We hiked around Donner Lake, visited Northstar to make my brother jealous, walked around Tahoe City, and ended the day at Fifty Fifty Brewery.

Donner Lake was pretty low, but still beautiful.

We created some Icelandic rock sculptures.

Tahoe Lake at the Tahoe City Dam.

My mom’s creepy bird friend.

Beautiful.

Our second day in Tahoe we walked around Truckee in North Lake and explored Emerald Bay in South Lake before heading home.

Truckee

Let’s throw him in jail!

Hiking at Emerald Bay.

Emerald Bay

Angel Island

For their last day in the city I brought them to my new favorite spot just outside of SF – Angel Island. We walked the most of Perimeter Rd, the same walk Chris and I did the last time we were there, and took a brief shortcut on the fire road to go check out the campsite we’d be at on Friday.

Ringing the bell at Immigration Station.

Perimeter Rd

We ended the day at Bi-Rite Creamery on Divisadero.

If you’d like to see all of the photos from their trip take a look at my Flickr set. It was great to see them, I hope they had a good time, and I can’t wait until next year’s adventure!

Linzi

